

Legislative Energy Commission

100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., 72 State Office Building, St. Paul, MN 55155

Phone: (651) 296-0099 Fax: (651) 297-3697 TDD: (651) 296-9896 www.lec.leg.mn

July 30, 2019 MEETING MINUTES DRAFT

Members Present

Rep. Jamie Long

Sen. David Osmek

Sen. Scott Dibble

Sen. Andrew Mathews

Sen. Carrie Ruud

Sen. David Senjem

Sen. Erik Simonson

Rep. Pat Garofalo

Rep. Frank Hornstein

Rep. Kelly Moller

Rep. Marion O'Neill

Rep. John Petersburg

Rep. Steve Sandell

Rep. Zack Stephenson

Members Excused

Sen. Matt Goggin

Sen. John Marty

Sen. Dan Sparks

Rep. Chris Swedzinski

Rep. Long called the meeting of the Legislative Energy Commission to order at 1:03 p.m. on Tuesday, July 30, 2019 in Room 10 of the State Office Building. A quorum was present.

Sen. Osmek moved to approve the Minutes from the meetings on July 12, 2018 and February 7, 2018.

Motion prevailed.

Rep. Hornstein nominated Rep. Jamie Long to serve as co-chair of the Legislative Energy Commission.

Motion prevailed.

Rick Evans from Xcel Energy invited Commission members to tour the following facilities:

Prairie Island Nuclear Generating Plant Monticello Nuclear Generating Plant Control Center, and Grand Meadow Wind Farm Several dates were offered for each site visit. A polled to determine what dates may work best.

Steve Kelly, Commerce Commissioner provided a presentation regarding Clean Energy First. Followed by testimony regarding proposed legislation related to Clean Energy First provided by Rep. Zack Stephenson.

Panelists for Clean Energy First discussion included: Mike Bull, Center for Energy and Environment Rick Evans, Xcel Energy Greg Padden, Great River Energy Jessica Tristch, Sierra Club Peder Mewis, Clean Grid Alliance, and Lucas Franco, LIUNA Minnesota & North Dakota

Meeting adjourned at 3:35 p.m.